Below is the Burn Permit information provided from http://larimer.org/burnpermit/burn_brochure.pdf
How to Get a Burn Permit
1. Access the burn permit application on-line from Larimer County Department of Health and Environment (LCDHE) at http://www.larimer.org/burnpermit/ or call 498-6775 for assistance. Digital photos can be uploaded to assist in the review and approval process avoiding a possible site inspection. A permit must be renewed each year.
2. LCDHE will evaluate and process the application. It will be forwarded to your local fire authority for their approval also. You will get the Permit via an email attachment if you can include/provide an email address, or it is mailed via the USPS.
3. To see if the permit has been approved or denied you can track its’ progress on-line. Some applications require a site visit; all permits require fire authority approval.
4. Your local fire authority has final approval determination on the application based on any fire restrictions.
5. Once a Permit is in your possession, call the appropriate communication center each day prior to ignition (phone number listed on the permit). This prevents a fire department from responding to a report of smoke at the location of an approved burn.
6. Keep a copy of your burn permit on site when you are burning. A valid permit will have authorization from both the health department and the fire department.
Most outdoor burning in Larimer County requires a permit signed by both the Fire Department and the Health Department. The fire department evaluates applications for potential fire safety issues, while the health department evaluates applications for air quality issues that can impact human health. For example, open burning releases fine particulates that can aggravate chronic lung diseases and carbon monoxide that can prevent the transport of oxygen in the blood.
Open burning in Larimer County is regulated by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment/Air Pollution Control Division and the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment under Colorado Air Quality Control Commission’s Regulations # 1 and # 9. Open burning without a permit is illegal and can result in fines of up to $10,000 per day. For info go to: http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/ap/stationary.asp
Some activities do not require a general open burn permit, however fire depts. do request you fill out an application for a Specialty Permit for agricultural activities. These include:
- Agricultural broadcast burning
- Irrigation ditch burns
- Bon fires
No permits are needed for –
- Small recreational or cooking
DO NOT BURN -
- Routine yard and garden clean-up waste
- Construction debris
- Household garbage
- Materials that produce excessive smoke (plastic, wire, tires, wet grass, leaves, etc.)
- Commercial/Business waste
- Pile branches in open areas away from standing timber and structures.
- Piles should be no larger than 8-10 feet in diameter at the base and 6 feet high.
- There must be a minimum of 3 inches of snow cover around piles.
- Winds must be less than 10 mph. Check the weather forecast to avoid burning during high winds or extremely dry conditions.
- Always have water, a rake, and a shovel available.
- Fires attended by a non-impaired adult.
- All burning must be extinguished by nightfall.
Slash burning in the foothills and mountains MUST take place only with 3 or more inches of snow cover.
Permits will be processed for a season that occurs from October 1 to May 1.